mumtaz

For the occasion of professor Mumtaz A. Anwar farewell and last leacture in Kuwait:

Dear p. Mumtaz, fellow students.

When I first enrolled in Library and Information Science program back in sep 2007, I was lucky to follow Dr.Charlene advice to take my first classes with P. Mumtaz in class 501. I remember it was in Ramadan just before fattor at 4 o’clock. And they say “the first impression is the last impression”. Professor Mumtaz left an impression on me from day one, An impression of a great teacher.  And I remember the first thing he taught us in that class, it’s to fold the exam paper partially so our margin would be straight. Simple note that made a difference and showed us what we will be facing up a head.

Albert Einstein once said “It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.”

In life we pass along a lot of teachers in our school days, there is always this teacher who you cannot forget. Either he is so bad, or he so good that he leaves his mark on your way of thinking. And I can remember two great teachers now. One is from my high school days and the other is professor Mumtaz.

I told this story once to p.Mumtaz. One day my nephew who is in his final year in the college of science studying geography. He gave me a report written by him that he was going to submit to his teacher. without reading the material i started telling him that his apa style is wrong, the font size and formats is not correct. Leave a space here. Don’t start your sentence like this. You should do this and you should’nt do that. Then I stopped when I realized the effect of class 507 and other classes with the professor.

P.Mumtaz, I know how you like joha nasru aldaen stories. so I got one for you. Joha once was facing financial crises. With no one trusting to lend him the money, he offered to mortgage his house to one of the merchants. The merchant agreed and gave joha what was sufficient to rescue him from the crises. Months passed by and joha never returned the money to the merchant. So the merchant pressured joha to give him the house. And so, joha agreed on one condition. To keep the ownership of one nail on the wall to himself. And that the merchant could do nothing to that nail.

So the merchant agreed and moved to live in joha’s house. And each night joha would come and knock on the door of the merchant to visit his dear nail.  In the middle of the night. During meals. Whenever it was not convenient for the merchant. Also refusing to let the merchant hang his clothes on the nail. And sometimes joha would just stand there talking to the nail and crying as if it was a lover or a dear person.

Finally, the merchant got fed up with the situation and gave back the house to joha just to get rid of his nail and his intrusion on his life. Hoping to get his money back in whatever timing is suitable for joha.

I hope that the gifts we give you today will be like joha’s nail in the wall. Whenever you see these books you will remember us and feel our presence. So we can intrude on your memory even if you forget us.

Thank you professor for teaching us. It is not easy to change what we have accumulated over the past years in our educational system. I know that you have been patient with us with much tolerance. And we thank you for that.

Thank you professor and my life treat you well

Mohammad Ali Al-Bahrani,      Kuwait,     10.6.2009