Naseema’s Assaignment

By exchanging emails. Seeking the help of old friends as usual, I was in contact with dear Naseema. Naseema was one of the A students in MLIS Program and no one can say that is not true. She was very helpful with other coleuges and had success through her journey in the program. So, it was only normal to seek information about her situation after graduation. Now as a Master degree holder, What did she gain? What did she benefit? How is her career? So with her permission i gave her one last assignment to solve these questions so we can post the answers in the blog.

After graduation I joined my work back, which was tougher than before. Everything has changed for the worst in terms of  rules, regulations, systems…etc. Most of the colleagues have  left  the place, and lots of new faces were there as well. At the beginning I was so depressed because of the situation, then I thought to search for a better place which was quite hard thing to do. I straggled a lot, started to follow up newspapers searching for vacancies, visited some places asking for a suitable job. I guess two of the  places I visited asked me my bachelor’s degree, they were not interested in the master’s, and the only answer I usually get, is to wait for their job related announcement  in the news papers. I have applied in so many places as well, nothing happened so far. So now I feel so disappointed for having a master degree after two years of hard work and at the end there is no use of such a degree. Other thing is that, I didn’t benefit from my master degree even at my work, my salary didn’t increase, my job title is the same. Also, I have noticed that no one is interested in our major (LIS), I don’t know why Kuwait University had the word library in there. The things I gained from the  degree have to do with me as a person only, it has improved my English language, improved my knowledge in certain areas for example, knowing the information searching techniques, how to search and retrieve  the right information from the most reliable sources, realizing the importance of managing and sharing knowledge whether within an organization or in an individual’s daily life, having a special knowledge in specific fields that were taught during the program. But when it comes to a person’s professional life, there is no use of MLIS, this is from my own experience.

Dont be depressed to read it. 90% or maybe more of MLIS graduate students don’t benefit the degree on the career side. And other just forget it. Small percentage of the graduates get lucky and get a scholarship for a PhD, Other get a better Job if they are real lucky. But the majority will not.

10 thoughts on “Naseema’s Assaignment

  1. I’m really sorry to hear that from Naseema, and from other students as well. Naseema, I believe that even if someone want’s to get married, maybe he will get rejected just because he holds an MLIS degree!!!

    Naseema, think of it this way, like any other public sector. As far as they get their monthly salaries, no one will care about your future and your career development. If our university was a private sector, you will find out that you get so many offers from companies, and you have to choose among them!

    Mr. Bahrani, who cares!?

  2. You are absolutely right Talal. what can we do!
    But my advice is to go for a PHD.
    I believe that a master degree is a bridge that takes you to PHD.

  3. Thank you Nasema for let us share and talk about your experience..you are so brave..many students refuse to talk about it. I think you have to wait and seek carefully for a suitable job..it is a matter of time and sometimes “Wasta” and you can not blame the department because you know the name of the program before you enrolled. You mentioned a lot of good things you gained during your study.. i believe this is the most important thing.. to dvelop you skills, knowledge, language and personality. you will benifit from this expeience in your whole life not only for a job.. and you will support you family, friends with waht you have learned.
    Thaks again and you was such agreat friend you are very helful and you supported me and others in many situations.Wish you all the best 🙂

  4. Talal, I care, we care, future generation care. even others dont. we are here when they are gone.

    Naseema, I know a guy that had a master degree a long time a go and did not continue to get a PhD. This guy says that he feels that he have one leg and its useless without the other one. He feels that he is limping.

    Fatma, I agree totally with you and Naseema. Since day one in the program i planted one thought in my mind, im not getting the degree just for the title, its the full experience. I’m a changed person now, im not the same MB who started school 2 years a go. My way of thinking has changed. My prospective of life and the community changed. And if time could go back again i will do the full journey the same way i did ( Maybe i will skip some classes 🙂

  5. Dear Naseema,
    although I have never met you, I feel like I know you.
    The way you’re described your life now is as if you are describing my sitaution after I graduate. I’ll be living the exact life as yours, going back to work….etc.
    But Mohammed is right, the program changed us on the personal level, to the best of course (:

  6. We will all be living the same situation. Although it will be easier for me because i did’nt leave office and still at work. Today i met an old friend on campus and he said that he was really depressed when he read this post. Dont be and face it. You knew it all along.

  7. Salam
    We have to admit that we came to this major by our choice and really I am not dissoppointed that I joined this program. Yes..There are some difficulties such as time, age, social life, etc,, but I am sure we are gaining information and knowledge, our searching in databases changed better than before, and still we are learning in an academic process the methods of research, managerial issues, classification techniques, what is the difference between information, knowledge and wisdom. We gain knowledge form expeirneced instructers like Dr. Mumtaz, Dr. Sameer, Dr. H. Alansarه, Dr. Chaudari, Dr. Sajjad and others. last but not least, really ÷ was depressed when I read Naseema’a post even though I don’t know her, and she had the right to be sad on her new career life and how disopponited she is. But Can I give you small advice Naseema, Don’t wait others to change in your career, now you have more information and more knowledge than others. You creat the chance for yourself, You Capture the chance. May be it’s passing near to you but no one can see it, so you catch it, not necassary in your work, any place you find it a good environment to change to better, just start the first step and you will reach inshallah.

    وكما يقال بدل أن تلعن الظلام , اشعل شمعة

    Bo U sef

  8. It’s so pleasure to hear from you all. Thanks for your advices. And what ever you all have said is 100% correct, there is no doubt that we all have changed for the best. Belive it or not, I have never been taught by such an excellent instructors with a great personalities as you all said, and of course working with so kind and helpful collegues. All these things mad my master journey so enjoyable. I really miss those days. I believe that our insructors and collegues play a big role in changing us to a better persons.I totaly agree that what ever we’ve learned in the program is valuable, lots of new and useful information we got to know. We all have admited this, but in the outside enviornment, no one knows our degree’s value and this is the main problem.
    Anyways, my best wishes to all of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

