Dear All

As being part of the Board Member of the SLA/AGC Association I would like to express my views of the conference that took place in Muscat, Oman between the 8-10th March 2011.

Oman The Wonderful Place

What a magnificent, scenic, and fascinating place to visit. A clean and quite country you will see, decent and well-bred people you will meet, and clear and tranquil weather you will enjoy. I have enjoyed visiting Oman for the first time in life. visiting different heritage places and enjoying the nature of Muscat were great experience I had. Also were blessed living in Al Bustan Palace hotel, which was centered in the middle of Al Qantab beautiful mountains.

Outside the Al Bustan Palace Hotel

Al Bustan Palace Hotel

Dramatic and stylish Hotel, that combines the past and the future in its design, although I hated the way it has been constructed. You will feel like in a MAZE, each elevators would left you to a different places.. I took 3 days to understand the trick🙂 and then felt frustrated finding the right halls and sessions rooms all the way.. but overall it was challenging and a quite place that has a shopping center and around 3 different international restaurants. of course one of the beautiful things I loved about the hotel is its thrilling room view, where the palms, ocean, and mountains are surrounding you from everywhere.. come and have a look!!!

Thanxxx to the Iphone4🙂

The SLA/AGC Conference

Well, the conference were great in many ways. unfortunately I couldn’t attend all the keynote speakers or sessions due to my different obligations within the conference.

First, I would like to present my grateful thankfulness to the organizing committee that have been working for months for the conference. Second, I would say “Thank you” for all the Omani people who were more than hospitable and warmhearted with all of us.

The conference had around 71 accepted papers presented in different sessions, I had the pleasure to meet some of our old friends such as Fadhel, Sakeena, and Lulwah, where she conducted a great paper about Information Seeking Behaviour, That reminded me of Mumtaz Class 2.5 years ago..

I had to evaluate two sessions, because we needed to choose “Best Paper” and award the participant at the end. The funny thing is that in the two sessions I attended, Fadhel and Sakeena were in one, and Lulwah were in the other🙂 .

Unfortunately, I wanted to meet with our sister Wadha Al Ajmi but I couldn’t, because I was busy between the board members meeting, the student award committee and the exhibitions vendors meetings requests, which I hope that she has done very well in her session, because she really deserve it.

Of course meeting your old friends and colleagues makes you happy, but I think for some people this issue is kind of selective if you know what I mean.. it was annoying a little bit for me to see people who have used you before for their own benefits and today they completely forgetting you.. I would say to those people cheer up and take things easy because life is like a circle you never know what will happen.. (والله يبعدنا عن الحساد)🙂

On the other hand, I was so blessed by the warm welcome and greetings from our friend such as Lulwah, Waheed from KISR and Mohammed bo Abbas from springer, as well as Ameen from Sage (BTW Mohammed he says HI to you) and other people from the region I really do appreciate their kindness and humbleness.

Enough talking and lets see some photos and videos..

SLA/AGC Board Meeting

 

Lulwah’s Presentation

 

Fadhel’s & Sakeen’s  Presentations

Stephen Abrams’s Speech

I have really enjoyed Mr. Abrams’s speech which inspired my in many ways. after his session ended, we had a great talk together about it and about our region professionals.

At the end I hope you have enjoyed reading the post, and I hope to see all of you in different events and occasions in the future..

If you have any questions related to the conferences or would like to ask for the papers, I will be delighted helping all of you Enshallah.

 

Sincerely

Saleh A. Ebrahim