—-
Book Review: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice & Fire)
// Crazy Yet Wise

DSC_4619

I can say that I’m proud of myself for finishing this book in less than a month and I can also say that I’ve enjoyed every word and page of this book. I cannot explain to you how mind-blowing this book was. Probably the best so far, can’t judge for I haven’t completed the series but so far it’s the best. The characters, the scenes, the language used in this book is beyond amazing, I really don’t know how George R. R. Martin comes up with such words and descriptions of characters and events but he’s one hell of a gifted writer.

In this book we come to know more about Lysa, Catelyn’s sister. How they killed her baby from Littlefinger, who did it and why, which made her suffer her whole life until she became pregnant from Jon Arryn.

Sansa being in love with Ser Loras but then she becomes disappointed when she learns that she is to be wedded to Ser Wallis who’s the crippled brother of Loras and Margery. I felt sorry for Sansa in this book for what she has gone through. I wonder how she’s keeping it together with everything that has happened to her and knowing that she’s the reason that King Joeffery is dead, well that was something. I did’t expect Ser Dontos to have a hand in it but he did and the one who was arranging all of this was of course Littlefinger (I hate him).

There is one character which I loved in the T.V. show but hated in the books. It’s Robb Stark, God how stupid he was. Doing stupid things just because Jeyne nursed him and not listening to his own mother, no wonder he got killed and Jeyne stayed alive. I wonder if she had a hand in his murder. Hammy well I guess I’ll never know until I read the 4th or 5th book.

The description of Brienne of Tarth is outrageous, I mean how ugly can a woman be hehe. The words said to her or about her are really awful and she doesn’t seem to care. But I loved her more and more in the books and how devoted and honourable she was.

Now, let’s move on to Jaime Lannister who was really awful and wicked in the beginning of this book until the end when his character has changed dramatically after he knew that his sister was sleeping with other men just to get to what she wants. That broke his heart and made him realise the things he’s done in his life and how she wanted to repent or do something honourable which was saving Sansa even after he knew that she killed his son. I also liked how they changed his look in the book, he became bald with a long beard. I kept imagining his face without hair.

Deaneries comes to know of Ser Jorah’s unfaithfulness and banishing him as a punishment. She couldn’t kill him because (from my point of view) she had feelings for him but couldn’t or wouldn’t admit, on the other hand he did admit that he loved her and he wanted her forgiveness but she didn’t grant him that. Poor old man. I love his character a lot.

In this book, we also get to know more about The Night Shift and The Wildlings. How the night shift was created. Who was in control and how it became under Jon Snow’s control. At the end of this book he becomes Lord Commander and thinks of how he’ll fight Stannis Baratheon. I felt sad for him and Ygritte, i think they would have made a great couple if she had survived in this series. She was a wildling by heart, she loved Jon deeply but she couldn’t abandon her people, the same thing applies on Jon Snow. So sad😦

Oh and the ending was WOOOOW. I didn’t see that coming. Now I can’t wait to see/read what will happen or what she’ll do!

—-

Shared via my feedly reader

Sent from my iPad